TEAM TOPEAK-ERGON AT THE LEADVILLE 100

August 14, 2010
Leadville, Colorado, USA

The Granddaddy of the 100-mile races, the 2010 Leadville 100 was one for the record books!  Thousands of racers toed the start line to tackle the lung-searing course that averages an elevation of 11,000 ft above sea level.  Some of the top road and mountain bike pros in the USA came to due battle and push the envelope of what is possible on this course.  Dave Wiens and Yuki Saito would represent Team Topeak-Ergon in what became a battle of the who’s-who of competitive cycling in the USA.

Dave Wiens would take 4th place behind winner Levi Leipheimer on the day and set his fastest time ever on the Leadville 100 course.  “I’ll take it! I wouldn’t change my preparation at all and I was as fit as ever. I was worked from the start but that’s the way this race has gone: fast, hard starts that are going to punish pretty much everyone, and then you hang on as best you can.”…..stated Dave following the race.

Yuki Saito rode to personal best finish of 11th overall.  Yuki after the race……” “The race was faster than ever, but my legs felt great and nutrition plan went very well. I made my PR – 7:20:39. I could not do it without my great support crew, sponsors, family, friends and volunteers! Thank you very much!”

RESULTS
Dave Wiens, 4th
Yuki Saito, 11th

All photos by www.prerace.com

Leave a Reply

