Q AND A WITH ALLISON MANN

Who is Allison Mann you ask?  Well, she a mountain biker like the rest of us…..working a full time job and doing what it takes in between to compete at a highest level.  We sat down with Allison for a few questions after she was selected to represent the USA at the Mountain Bike World Championship in early September!

Ergon: WOW!  You have been selected to represent the USA at the Mountain Bike World Championships in Canada in September.  Has this been a year-long goal?

Allison: I’d honestly have to say no, I am blown away by the opportunity and didn’t expect it at all.  Long answer: my goals this season were loosely to close the gap to the World Cup Pro women from last year (about 10 minutes down to the leaders to 5 minutes in the big XC races), and finish the US Mountain Bike Nationals at Granby (9,000ft) physically and mentally strong.  Some of my goals vastly changed after my husband’s road riding accident that took him out of riding for 3+ months and sent me into full on support mode for him.  He fractured 3 vertebrae in at least 6 places and fractured his patella.  There were a few days (after he was out of the hospital) that I wasn’t sure I’d be training or racing at all this year.  At Nationals I decided to petition for a discretionary spot at World’s because if you don’t apply they can’t select you!

Ergon: You live in Southern California…which is not known for its rocky, rooty, and wet conditions, how do you plan to prepare for the rocky and rooty course at Mt Ste Anne?

Allison: We do have some chunk (rocky terrain) here and there, but especially now mid-summer it is all pretty dry and blown out, not rooty or wet!  I’m planning on getting on my mountain bike quite a bit on the weekends and finding some trails to practice my technical climbing and descending.  I actually can’t wait because challenging technical trails are what we all enjoy, right?

Ergon: You have been an Ergon fan and user for a few years now.  For 2010, you started racing on the GA1.  Can you describe the advantages/gains you get from riding the GA1?  What size and color are you racing on?

Allison: I’m racing on the Small in green.  I feel like they offer really good grip control and have been awesome for me in technical terrain.  I really preferred the GX1’s for endurance due to the multiple hand positions, but have found in XC racing that the GA1’s offer really good control and the multi-hour comfort isn’t needed.  I don’t have a lot of experience racing in rain but my Ergon grips provide great feel when wet and it is nice to have peace of mind knowing my grips will be solid in a race like Worlds.

Ergon: What are your goals for World Championships?

Allison: My goals are pretty simple – I’d like to have a good solid race and soak up the experience.  I don’t have a lot of UCI points, so I will be starting at the back, but want to have a good start and ride confidently throughout the race.  I hope to learn a lot as I’d like to do more racing internationally next year.

Ergon: What most people might not know is you work full-time day job as well as race and train.  All we can say is ‘Respect!’.  What is a typical training day look like?

Allison: Typical training day is about 3-4 hours at work at my desk, quick suit up, ride for 1-2 hours on the road due to convenience, quick lunch at the desk while working, finish up the rest of my 8 hours, then it’s back home to cook dinner and prepare lunch and snacks for the following day before I crash into my bed.  I try to do core work twice a week as well.

Ergon: It takes a great support crew to get to the point you are in your racing career.  Any other people or sponsors you would like to mention that helped with the 2010 successs?

Allison: My biggest fan and supporter is my husband, Justin, who is always there for me in every way.  It’s awesome having him back as a training partner as well.  Rock N’ Road Cyclery has hooked me up big time this year so thanks also to Matt for everything.  My dad and grandparents have donated some travel dollars, which has helped a ton as well, and my mom is really supportive of my efforts.  After that it’s companies that I love and have used their products that have offered me some product and discounts such as Ergon, CycleOps, Oakley, Swiftwick, and First Endurance.  Lastly I have to say thanks to Keith who’s provided me coaching for a lot of this season and really helped me progress to this point – and get back on the bike after Justin’s accident!

Ergon: We wish you all the best at the World Mountain Bike Championships!  We will be following along closely!

For more on Allison, check out her website.

4 Responses to “Q AND A WITH ALLISON MANN”

  1. Robert Mead Says:

    Your Gramps wishes only the best for you.
    You have been an awesome Grand Daughter and friend.

  2. Way to go Alison. Thanks for leading the ride at Fat Tire Fest. Looking forward to seeing you dominate at SoCalCross Griffith Park.

  3. Piece of writing writing is also a fun, if you know afterward you can write if not
    it is difficult to write.

  4. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you may be a
    great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually
    come back someday. I want to encourage continue your great posts,
    have a nice holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

