ROAD TO LEADVILLE: “IT WAS A VERY GOOD RIDE”

Thursday July 29, 2010 – I worked all morning but my day had an opening just before noon. We are squarely in the monsoon flow right now so the later in the day you wait to ride, the more you’re rolling the dice with the weather. It was already dark to the west so I jetted onto my hardtail and headed east on Highway 50 to Alex’s climb. I had had a good morning at work so my morale and enthusiasm were high. Interesting how that and an empty stomach can really fire you up on your bike. I rode an area northeast of town in the sage country (where is it not sage country around here?) that I hadn’t been up into for a few weeks. It’s got good climbing and some nice trails. I didn’t see a soul as very few people ride up there.

I would categorize the ride as a spirited Just Ride or JR. No HR monitor but I did track my vertical, which was just over 2,000 feet in an hour and forty five minutes. As Phil Liggett might say, “It was a very good bike ride.” Back home, check the phone, Yes! I didn’t miss anything. Back to work for a couple of hours and while I was working I looked outside and it was pouring. In fact, right now as I write this it’s pouring and it’s almost 11pm. Susan and I went to the gym together right before dinner and I lifted for the fourth time. I’m not sore anymore and actually went up on weight on some of the stations, but barely. There’s a dude in there benching about a thousand pounds and then I walk up and put a 10 and a 5 plate on, each side of course, and proceed to knock out an amazing set of bench myself. I was wearing my vintage Denver Broncos t-shirt from 1997, though.

Tomorrow I plan to drive east on 50 for about 15 miles and then do 2.5 hours of AMU on 50 to the top of Monarch Pass. It’s a departure from the entire workout being on the flats but I have done this once before and I like it. Certainly, there will be a break in the HR’s as I descend the pass but I’ll just pick up where I leave off at the top. Hopefully, this will be a 3 hour ride total with a 15 minute warm up and cool down. This is a ride where I might blow so I’ll eat more than a bowl of cereal and a banana. Actually, much to my chagrin, we’re out of bananas but I chopped up four mini-bagels into tiny squares and I’ll fry them up in egg batter making kind of a funky French toast. I hope that fuels me. I’ll have a bar along just in case but only water in my two large bottles.

My goal is to throw my leg over the bike at 6am as tomorrow is a busy day and I need to get this ride in the proverbial hopper.  Sorry for the rambling nature of my writing; I really don’t have a ton of time to craft this thing. I write it, proofread it once and call it good. Let’s just say it’s….authentic? Good night.

5 Responses to “ROAD TO LEADVILLE: “IT WAS A VERY GOOD RIDE””

  1. Don’t apologize for your writing style, it’s functional, to the point and easy to understand!! Thanks for the info.

  2. It’s great writing Dave!
    What is your longest training ride (distance wise) leading up to the race?
    Unfortunately, I have to train in Florida, so I have zero verticals and 100 degree temps with 100% humidity.
    Closest thing to climbing is a stiff headwind by the ocean, so we try to push 4-5 hour rides on weekends plus a local crit at race pace during the week. I know Leadville will kick my butt, but I just want to enjoy the scenery after reading your blogs.
    Thanks for the motivation!

    Karl

  3. Dave,

    Nice blog. Where do you work? How many hours do you usually work in a week. I like how you squeez in a ride in the morning and afternoon.

    Thanks for the writing.

  4. keep it up…i’ve been reading them all. good stuff.

  5. Dave Wiens Says:

    Hey Karl, My longest training rides before Leadville? One or two off-road rides of about 70 miles, but not this year. And usually, I’ll get in an 80 or 90 mile on an out and back on the road we have here called The Black Mesa. That one might happen this week but maybe not. This year I did a fiveish hour MTB ride with around 7,000 vertical back in June; the Bailey Hundo, which ended up being around 7 hours and 9,500 vertical; and….well, those are my longest rides. A couple of 70ish mile road rides that climbed around 4,500. But that’s the deal, right? We can only do what we can do. You’re in Florida and you’re training the best you can. While there is no substitute for miles and time pushing on the pedals, a strong and positive attitude will never let you down. Keep it up and we’ll see you in Leadville!

    Brett, I’m working/training in orthopedic sales; basically product support for our local orthopedic surgeons. Lots of shoulder and knee repair systems as well as total joint replacement. I have a long way to go and a ton to learn but I really dig it. Being in the OR is pretty intense, too. The learning is full-time, the actual work is more part-time, Gunnison being a small community, but it will allow me to keep my foot in the bike industry and trail advocacy doors, as well.

Leave a Reply

