LOONEY SELECTED TO USA MARATHON TEAM

July 13, 2010
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA

Starting the 2010 season back in February, Sonya Looney, has been hitting the long races with a master plan: SUCCESS. Landing on the podium at all but three 50+ mile events has made Sonya Looney a major threat in any long distance event in the USA.

It is with those superior performances that USA Cycling has added Sonya to the roster that will represent the USA at the 2010 Marathon World Championships in St Wendel, Germany. With a recent win at the Bailey 100 and a 2nd place at the Cascade Cream Puff 100, she has proven she has what it takes to be successful at the marathon and longer formats.

“I first saw that I was officially selected for worlds while sitting on the runway coming back from the Cascade Cream Puff 100, and started hyperventilating and getting choked up in my tiny airplane seat. Having the opportunity to compete at the Marathon World Championships is my greatest accomplishment in cycling, and it will be another huge step in my development as a younger endurance rider. It is something I never though I would be able to do. I feel honored to represent my country, my team, my friends and followers, and my sponsors at the Marathon WORLD Championships, I’m excited to race next to my Topeak-Ergon European teammates, but also my USA teammate – Krista Park who is a friend.”…Sonya stated after hearing about the selection to the team

On August 8, 2010, Sonya will suit up in the USA team kit and tackle the 107km World Championship course.

3 Responses to “LOONEY SELECTED TO USA MARATHON TEAM”

  1. […] the thumbnail for the full story, or click here for the press release from […]

Leave a Reply

