FRONT RANGE 50

May 8, 2010
Denver, Colorado, USA

Select members of Topeak-Ergon USA kept the racing close to home this past weekend. Located at Bear Creek Park outside of Denver, the team riders took on the challenge of the Front Range 50. This event is the true kick off to the mountain bike season in Colorado, and all the racers come out to flex their early season muscle.

Racing for Team Topeak-Ergon USA were Jeff Kerkove, Yuki Saito, and Sonya Looney.

Yuki would go on to take the top placing for the team in the Men’s race with a 5th place out of 200+ rider field. “The race started out at insanely fast pace led by Kelly Magelky (Trek) and Brad Bingham (Moots). I was close to them and chased all day, but I was never able to catch. I ended up 3rd place in my age group and my time 3:15:42 was 5th fastest overall. I’m happy with how I performed and looking forward to doing better at next race!”

Kerkove would have a solid day on the bike finishing in 15th place. “My pacing and nutrition was spot on. With all the different categories of racers on course it made it hard to attack and stay away from riders in my race. Seemed my timing was just bad today” Said Kerkove following the 50 mile effort.

The top result of the day came from Sonya Looney who beat out some of the fastest USA female endurance racers to take 3rd overall in the 50 mile event. “FR50 was a lot more popular this year bringing in more racers to overpopulate the course, and also to bring a stronger caliber of women to compete against! I was pleasantly surprised to see that this year, I have been racing above a level compared to last year, and the competition makes me a better rider and racer!”

RESULTS
Yuki Saito, 5th
Jeff Kerkove, 15th
Sonya Looney, 3rd

Leave a Reply

