LAKATA WINS STUBAI BIKE MARATHON

Topeak_Ergon_News_4409_2_1

It was clean cut.  The seven minutes advantage was something that no one could argue with at the Stubai Bike Marathon this last Sunday.

As the winner of last year’s race, Lakata started bearing the start number ‘1’.  Quite fitting for the reigning European Marathon Champion.  Piling on the pressure from the start, Alban shot to the front of the field.  On each climb he built up an ever-expanding lead.  “Before the race, I was unsure if I had sufficiently recovered from the TransAlp to be able to race again.” He said, delighted with the win.  “It surprised me how well I rode, and that I was able to build such a lead.  After all, these are the Elite riders that I am competing against.”

Topeak_Ergon_News_4409_1_1

His good form is something that Lakata is hoping to display at the Marathon World Championships in two weeks in Graz, Austria.   “Today was a great test.  I am optimistic having won here, of my chances of becoming the World Champion on my home turf.”

Leave a Reply

